Students selected for Honorary Secretary of State Program

The Herald-Dispatch

CHARLESTON – Secretary of State Mac Warner has announced 49 students from 27 high schools across the state have been selected for the Honorary Secretary of State Program for the 2017-18 school year.

The Honorary Secretary of State Program aims to recognize high school students who are active in the voter registration process, according to a news release. Specifically, these students have been active in registering eligible 17 and 18-year-old students to vote. Many of the honorees have helped organize more than 90 voter registration drives in their schools and communities.

“These students have shown a commitment to our form of government by encouraging their peers and classmates to register to vote,” Warner said in the release. “Working with their teachers and administrators, our county clerks, and civic engagement organizations like Inspire West Virginia, these students ensure that our youngest voters will have a voice in our electoral process.”

Honorary Secretary of State recipients will be recognized individually during the legislative session. Honorees spend time in the Secretary of State’s Office during the legislative session shadowing Warner and his staff during a typical workday.

Area students selected for this year’s HSOS Program are:

in Cabell County: Laura R. and Shannyn K., St. Joseph Central Catholic High School;